Tripura wins title in under 17 girls’ football


In a breath taking soccer encounter, the under 17 Tripura girls team stole the show winning the title on Thursday. The host team won over last year runner’s up Odisha with a distinct score board distance of 4-1.

In the last football match of the event—under-17 girls’, organized under the aegis of 64th National School Games concluded in a success note for the state as appealing efforts of Anita, Shefali, Hena and Anjali finally succeeded to pierce the defense of Odisha during the tie-breaker.

The match started in a hand to hand fight as no team could score till the half. The spectators could not witness a goal in the second a half too. The strong defensive shield put forward by both the teams counted the match temperature higher.

From the side of Tripura, forward strikers Hena Debbarma and Anjali Debbarma repeatedly tried to break the one-one marking but failed. Odisha striker Nikita Bishi also showed her skills aggression but could not make it to break the strong defensive marking.

The match took a furious shift towards Tripura in the tie-breaker. The consecutive successful boots of Anima Debbarma, Hena Debbarma, Anjali Debbarma and Jharna Debbarma did the rest for the team.

Meanwhile, Sagul Mathi from the side of Odisha also put a tremendous shot on the posts to match the score card but later Nikita Bishi and other strikers found it tough to enter the ball sideling the keeper.

However, MLA Asish Saha, Sports secretary Samarjit Bhwomik, sports director Udayan Sinha, TFA (Tripura Football Association) secretary Amit Chowdhury, TTDC Chairman Santosh Saha and Mayor Prafullajit Sinha later distributed the prizes and medals among the winners and runner’s up. Notably, TFA president Puri Prasad Debbarma awarded the entire team of Tripura with rupees five hundred as a token of success.