Chairman and VC nominated after oath at Udaipur, Belonia and Melaghar


The newly elected 21 Councilors of  Udaipur Municipal Council took oath at the open stage at premises of Shib Bari today in presence of DM of Gomati District T. K. Debnath, Tourism minister Pranajit Sinharoy , MLA Biplab Kumar Ghosh and Gomati District In-charge of BJP Subrata Chakraborty.

DM T.K. Debnath administered the oath. Later the elected councilors went to UMC on foot where the staffs of UMC welcomed them. Later the councilors selected former teacher councilor Shital Chandra Majumder as Chairman and Anupam Choudhury as Vice Chairman after discussion among them.

Talking to media at his chamber Chairman Majumder said that he would work for all round development of Udaipur.

Meanwhile 15 newly elected Councilors of Belonia Municipal Council took oath at Belonia Town Hall today. DM of South Debapriyo Bardhan administered the oath of secrecy.

Among them Shukla Deb Sarkar nominated as new Chairperson and Sayantan Dutta selected as Vice Chairperman. Among others MLA Arun Chandra Bhowmik, former MLA Amal Mallik, social worker Goutam Sarkar attended the programme as guest.

Our correspondent from Melaghar added that ending all speculations Uttam Das selected as Chairman and Uttam Das selected as Vice Chairman of Melaghar Municipal Council today. DM of Sipahijala district administered the oath of councilors in presence of SDM, Municipal officers and other eminent persons.