NFR boxers shine in the all India Railway boxing championship


The four days 72nd Men’s and 11th Women’s All India Railway Boxing Championship held in the Maligaon Railway Indoor Stadium from September 15 was concluded on September 18.
At the concluding ceremony, Chahatey Ram, General Manager of northeast Frontier Railway (NFR) gave away the prizes to the champion teams North Western Railway in Women’s event and Northern Railway in Men’s event. 

All together 140 boxers comprising of 18 men and 9 women international players participated in the Championship including Arjun awardees Monoj Kumar and Mandeep Jangra. 
North Western Railway annexed the Women champion in team event with 17 points in their kitty defeating home team N F Railway which earned 16 points from winning four gold, one silver and one best loser of the championship.

In the Men’s event Northern Railway annexed the champion team of the Championship and Central Railway won the 2nd rank in the event. 

It is to be mentioned that ladies from N F Railway brought pride to the railway where Minu Basumatary, Rumi Gogoi, Nomita Kachari, and Bhagyabati Kachari won the gold medal in their respective category while Jahnabi Gogoi won silver medal in the meet.