Agartala Chess Club organized School chess ends with huge success


Megnus Duttta, Abhinab Roy, Ronit Roy, Rajbir Ahmed and Debayan Das became champion in their respective categories in the two-day long Agartala Chess Club organized State School Chess tournament which concluded today. The tournament was held for the first time ever and grabbed huge amount of success. Record breaking 102 chess players took part in the tournament which has been held for 6 rounds.

In the first category (Nursery-Class 1) Megnus Dutta won the title with 4 points. With 3 points each the next four places have been grabbed by Kuldip Banik, Debanjan Ghosh, Mouli Bhattacharjee and Somnath Das. In the second category (Class2-3) with 5 points Abhinab Roy became champion. With 4 points each the next four places have been shared respectively by Arshia Das, Sourish Debnath, Rudrakshee Saha and Debrup Saha.

In the third category (Class4-5) with 4.5 points Ronit Roy became champion while with same points Diganta Roy became second. With 3.5 points each the next three places have been shared respectively by Atanu Bahadur, Debajyoti Nandi and Rohit Sarkar. In the fourth category (Class 6-8) with 5 points each top three places have been grabbed by Rajbir Ahmed, Parthajit Saha and Dibyajyoti Sarkar. With 4.5 points each Debalina Kundu and Subhranil Majumder became fourth and fifth respectively in this category.

In the fifth category (Class 9-12) with 2.5 points each Debayan Das secured the top place while the second place went to Rajbir Kundu. With 1.5 points each third and fourth place have been secured by Saikat Biswas and Soumyadip Bhowmik respectively while with 1 point Debadrita Debnath got the fifth place. Pradip Kumar Roy and Prabodh Ranjan Dutta conducted the rounds. At the end the prize distribution ceremony took place at Lion club of Agartala.